The Cameron Highlanders of Ottawa (Duke of Edinburgh's Own)

Unit Identification

The Cameron Highlanders of Ottawa crest

ADVANCE

   

Location

Cartier Square Drill Hall
2 Queen Elizabeth Dr.
Ottawa, ON  K1A 0K2

Army Reserve

Graphic: Joanna Gajdicar

Join Our Team

Looking for full-time or part-time work? We are hiring and provide excellent career opportunities. Please do not hesitate to call or email our recruiter who will be pleased to answer any questions you may have and provide direction on how to apply to our Regiment.

Our Team Recruiter

Email: CHofORecruiting@forces.gc.ca

Or contact

Phone: 1-800-856-8488
Find a recruiting centre near you.

When We Train

September to June:

  • Thursday evenings
  • 7:00 p.m. to 10:00 p.m.
  • one weekend per month.

Full-time summer employment is available from May to August.

Trades In Our Unit

Equipment

Who We Are

The Regiment, as part of 33 Canadian Brigade Group, is tasked to train soldiers in the light infantry role for augmentation to the Regular Force and for use in emergencies at home. The Cameron Highlanders of Ottawa (Duke of Edinburgh's Own) also proudly serve as the city of Ottawa’s official regiment. The Regiment is tasked, as needed, to provide Ceremonial Guards of Honour for visiting dignitaries and for National Ceremonies and events. Another very active part of the Regimental family is the Cameron Highlanders Pipe and Drums who are regularly tasked in national ceremonial roles, competitions and events in the Ottawa Valley. The Camerons' perennial home is the Cartier Square Drill Hall built in 1879, located at 2 Queen Elizabeth Drive, Ottawa, Ontario.

Benefits of Joining

When you join our unit, you will receive competitive pay for your part time or full time work as well as be eligible for on the job training that could benefit you in civilian life. Also, there are medical, dental and educational benefits available to Army Reservists.

Here are all the details:

Command Team

  • Commanding Officer - Lieutenant-Colonel Christopher Jackson, CD
  • Regimental Sergeant-Major - Chief Warrant Officer Michael Lever, MMM, CD

Contact Us

The Cameron Highlanders of Ottawa
Cartier Square Drill Hall
2 Queen Elizabeth Dr.
Ottawa, ON  K1A 0K2
Phone: 613-990-6603

Recruiting
1745 Alta Vista Dr.
Ottawa, ON  K1A 0K6

To book an appointment please email: CHofORecruiting@forces.gc.ca

News

The co-curators of the Governor General’s Foot Guards Regimental Museum stand among artifacts.

‘It’s always been a partnership’ for Foot Guards museum curators

Ottawa, Ontario — You could say Estelle Lane married the Governor General’s Foot Guards (GGFG) right along with her husband, Master Warrant Officer (Retired) Martin Lane, who was a member for 15 years, but the fact is, she became a part of the family even before the pair made it official in 1967.
August 13, 2019

Bald eagle

Species at risk in good hands at Ottawa’s Connaught Ranges and Primary Training Centre

Ottawa, Ontario — The Connaught Ranges and Primary Training Centre (CRPTC) in Southwest Ottawa is a major hub for military and police firearms training.
July 23, 2019

Traditional sunset ceremony at Parliment Hill

Charge into summer with Fortissimo

Ottawa, Ontario — It couldn’t have been called pianissimo, which means “play it delicately.”
July 15, 2019

See more news

Our History

The Regiment traces its history back to 1861 when a number of Militia companies were organized for the defense of Canada during the American Civil War. One of these companies was mobilized during the first Fenian Raid (Irish nationalists) into Canada from the United States in 1866. Later that year, nine independent infantry companies were united to form the 43rd Carleton Battalion of Infantry. In 1867, the 43rd provided the guard of honour for the opening of the first parliament of the newly formed Dominion of Canada. The 43rd Carleton Battalion of Infantry was disbanded in December 1875.

On 5 August 1881, the formation of the 43rd Battalion of Infantry was authorized. Almost immediately the unit was converted to rifles and re-designated the 43rd Ottawa and Carleton Battalion of Rifles. Permission was granted in January 1882 for the Regiment to adopt the motto of the City of Ottawa - ADVANCE. This remains the motto of the Cameron Highlanders of Ottawa and is worn on their badges.

Read more of our history.

Date modified:

The Cameron Highlanders of Ottawa (Duke of Edinburgh's Own)

Identification de l'unité

Insigne du The Cameron Highlanders of Ottawa

ADVANCE

« Avance »

Emplacement

Cartier Square Drill Hall
2 Queen Elizabeth Dr.
Ottawa, ON  K1A 0K2

Reserve de l'Armée

Graphique : Joanna Gajdicar

Joignez notre équipe

Vous cherchez du travail à temps plein ou à temps partiel? Nous embauchons et offrons d'excellentes perspectives de carrière. N'hésitez pas à appeler ou envoyer un courriel à notre recruteur qui se fera un plaisir de répondre à vos questions et de vous indiquer comment vous adresser à notre régiment.

Le recruteur de notre équipe

Courriel : CHofORecruiting@forces.gc.ca

Ou contactez

Téléphone : 1-800-856-8488
Trouvez un centre de recrutement près de vous.

Entraînement

septembre à juin:

  • jeudi soir
  • 19 h à 22 h
  • une fin de semaine par mois.

L'emploi d'été à plein temps est disponible de mai à août.

Qui nous sommes

Partie intégrante du 33e Groupe-brigade du Canada, le régiment est chargé d’instruire les soldats pour qu’ils soient en mesure de jouer un rôle au sein de l’infanterie légère en renfort de la Force régulière et d’intervenir lors de situations d’urgence au Canada. Le Cameron Highlanders of Ottawa (Duke of Edinburgh's Own) est également fier d’être le régiment officiel de la ville d’Ottawa. Selon les besoins, il agit comme garde d’honneur au cours de visites de dignitaires et dans le cadre de cérémonies et d’événements nationaux. Un élément fort actif de la famille régimentaire est le Cameron Highlanders Pipe and Drums; cet élément intervient régulièrement dans le cadre de cérémonies, de compétitions et d’événements d’envergure nationale se déroulant dans la vallée de l’Outaouais. Le régiment The Cameron Highlanders réside en permanence au manège militaire de la place Cartier, bâtiment construit en 1879 et sis au 2, Promenade Reine-Élizabeth, à Ottawa, en Ontario.

Avantages de l’enrôlement

Lorsque vous vous joignez à notre unité, vous recevrez une rémunération concurrentielle pour votre travail à temps partiel ou à temps plein. Vous êtes également admissible pour une formation en cours d’emploi qui pourrait vous être utile dans votre vie civile. Aussi, il y a des avantages médicaux, dentaires et éducatifs qui sont offerts aux réservistes de l’Armée.

Voici les détails :

Équipe de commandement

  • Commandant : Lieutenant-colonel Christopher Jackson, CD
  • Sergent-major : Adjudant-chef Michael Lever, MMM, CD

Communiquez avec nous

The Cameron Highlanders of Ottawa
Cartier Square Drill Hall
2 Queen Elizabeth Dr.
Ottawa, ON  K1A 0K2

Téléphone : 613-990-6603

Recruiting

1745 Alta Vista Dr.
Ottawa, ON  K1A 0K6

Pour réserver un rendez-vous s'il vous plaît envoyer un courriel à : CHofORecruiting@forces.gc.ca

Nouvelles

L’adjudant-maître (retraité) Martin Lane et sa femme en la Musée régimentaire des Governor General’s Foot Guards

« Ça a toujours été un partenariat » pour les conservateurs du Musée des Foot Guards

Ottawa, en Ontario — Vous pouvez dire qu’Estelle Lane s’est mariée aux Governor General’s Foot Guards (GGFG) en même temps que son mari, l’adjudant-maître (retraité) Martin Lane, qui y a été membre pendant 15 ans, mais le fait est qu’elle est devenue membre de la famille avant même que le couple rende le tout officiel en 1967.
Le 13 août 2019

L’aigle à tête blanche

Des espèces en péril entre bonnes mains au Polygone de Connaught et Centre d’entraînement élémentaire d’Ottawa

Ottawa (Ontario) — Le Polygone de Connaught et Centre d’entraînement élémentaire (PCCEE), situé dans le sud-ouest d’Ottawa, est un carrefour principal d’entraînement au maniement des armes à feu pour les forces militaires et policières.
Le 23 juillet 2019

La traditionnelle cérémonie militaire du crépuscule sur la Colline de Parlement

Prenez l’été d’assaut avec Fortissimo

Ottawa (Ontario) — Cette activité ne pouvait être baptisée « pianissimo », terme qui signifie « jouer très faiblement ».
Le 15 juillet 2019

Voir d'autres nouvelles

Notre histoire

Les origines du régiment remontent à 1861, quand plusieurs compagnies de la Milice sont mises sur pied pour défendre le Canada pendant la guerre de Sécession aux États-Unis. Une de ces compagnies est mobilisée pendant le premier raid des féniens (nationalistes irlandais) mené au Canada depuis les États-Unis, en 1866. Plus tard au cours de cette même année, neuf compagnies d’infanterie indépendantes sont regroupées pour constituer le 43rd Carleton Battalion of Infantry. En 1867, ce bataillon fournit la garde d’honneur à l’ouverture de la première législature du tout nouveau Dominion du Canada. Le 43rd Carleton Battalion of Infantry est dissous en décembre 1875.

Le 5 août 1881, la formation du 43rd Battalion of Infantry est autorisée. Presque aussitôt, l’unité est équipée de fusils et donc rebaptisée 43rd Ottawa and Carleton Battalion of Rifles. En janvier 1882, le régiment est autorisé à adopter la devise de la ville d’Ottawa – ADVANCE (Avance), qui demeure la devise du Cameron Highlanders of Ottawa et figure toujours sur les insignes des membres du régiment.

Lire la suite de notre histoire.

Date de modification :